News from Irish Hotels & Guesthouses

Sat 25 Mar, 2023
Saturday 25 Mar, 2023
IHF President's Award 2023

Irish Hotels Federation

Visit Website

IHF President's Award 2023
Martin Shanahan presented with IHF President's Award 2023
In recognition of his outstanding contribution to tourism and Ireland
 Fri 10th March 2023

Martin Shanahan (second from the left) receiving a painting of his homeland near Ardfert in Co. Kerry. Pictured with his husband, Gary Dennis, IHF President Denyse Campbell and IHF Chief Executive Tim Fenn.

Former CEO of IDA Ireland Martin Shanahan was awarded the Irish Hotels Federation President’s Award 2023 at the IHF’s Annual Conference in the Great Southern Killarney this week. The President’s Award was presented to Mr Shanahan in recognition of his outstanding contribution to tourism and Ireland.

From early beginnings in the hotel industry working at the Connemara Coast Hotel, Mr Shanahan’s career trajectory saw him appointed CEO of Forfás in 2010. Despite this being a challenging time for Ireland, his advice on the enterprise and jobs agenda made an enormous difference to Irish businesses as he communicated Ireland’s key strengths in boardrooms around the globe.

In his subsequent role as Chief Executive of IDA Ireland he delivered an enormous and growing contribution to the Irish economy, Irish tourism and Irish hotels. Announcing the award, IHF President Denyse Campbell said, “Every day hotels welcome guests and businesses that are present as a direct or indirect result of Martin’s enormous contribution to foreign direct investment and the broader Irish economy and society. For this, the hotel sector and the wider tourism industry thanks Martin for his tireless work.”

The IHF President’s award - Each year at the annual conference the IHF President’s award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to tourism and Ireland. Previous recipients of the IHF President’s award are Dr Martin Naughton, Dr Tom Kavanagh, Professor Mary McAleese, Paul Carty, Anna Mae McHugh, Donie Cassidy, JP McManus, Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh and Michael Noonan.

Visit Irish Hotels Federation’s website

IHF Member Hotels & Guesthouses and tourism industry partners can submit news stories for inclusion by emailing us at

Book Direct for the very best
deals and guest experience!

Irish Hotels Federation | Working Together