The Best of Irish Hotels & Guesthouses

Sat 2 Mar, 2024
Saturday 2 Mar, 2024
Shaping Brighter Futures

IHF Mayo Branch
Shaping Brighter Futures

Visit Website

Shaping Brighter Futures
Kay Bourke is the IHF Mayo Branch ‘Employee of the Year’
The announcement was made at an awards lunch in the Westport Plaza Hotel
 Thurs 7th December 2023

Pictured: Kay Bourke, IHF Mayo Branch Employee of the Year and IHF President, Denyse Campbell.

Kay Bourke, a receptionist and hostess at the Westport Woods Hotel has been announced as the 23/24 Irish Hotels Federation Mayo Branch ‘Employee of the Year’.

The announcement was made at an awards lunch in the Westport Plaza Hotel, where guests gathered to celebrate and recognise 8 nominees from hotels and guesthouses across Mayo who have made an outstanding contribution to their workplace.

Congratulating Kay on the award, IHF Mayo Branch Chair, Darren Madden said the judges highlighted Kay’s dedication to continued learning, enthusiasm to provide excellent visitor experiences and warm personality when selecting her as the winner.

Pictured (Back row L-R): Jelena Derek, Westport Plaza; Aaron McGinley, Clew Bay Hotel; Cathriona Quinn, McWilliam Park Hotel; Mikey Jarmin, Knock House Hotel; Dagmar Stefania Reyes Gallo, Hotel Westport; Precious Ndlovu, Breaffy House Resort and Damian Lydon, Castlecourt Hotel. (Front row L-R) Denyse Campbell, IHF President; Kay Bourke, IHF Mayo Branch Employee of the Year and Darren Madden, IHF Mayo Branch Chairperson.

Kay joined Westport Woods Hotel as a hostess in September 2018, and when coach tours stopped travelling during the pandemic, she worked hard to train as a receptionist. This year she completed her QQI Level 4 Tourism Visitor Care with the MSLETB in Castlebar and achieved a distinction. Colleagues say that Kay, “Embodies what tourism should be. She is the welcoming smile, the helping hand, the gentle recommendation, and the lasting memory”.

IHF Mayo Branch extends its gratitude to the expert judging panel comprised of Paul Gill (Managing Director, Claregalway Hotel) and Deirdre Fitzsimons (IHF Director of People Services), who had the difficult job of selecting a winner from the nominees.

The members of the IHF Mayo Branch now wish Kay the very best of luck as she goes on to represent them at the upcoming National IHF Employee of the Year Awards which will be held during the IHF's Annual Conference in February 2024.

Visit IHF Mayo Branch’s website

IHF Member Hotels & Guesthouses and tourism industry partners can submit news stories for inclusion by emailing us at

Book Direct for the very best
deals and guest experience!

Irish Hotels Federation | Working Together