The Best of Irish Hotels & Guesthouses

Sat 20 Apr, 2024
Saturday 20 Apr, 2024
IHF President's Award

Irish Hotels Federation

Visit Website

IHF President's Award
Howard Hastings presented with IHF President's Award 2024
In recognition of his outstanding contribution to tourism and Ireland
 Thurs 29th February 2024

Pictured: Howard Hastings (on the right) receiving a painting of St Patrick’s Cathedral. Pictured beside his wife, Philippa, IHF President Denyse Campbell and IHF Chief Executive Tim Fenn.

Chairman at Hastings Hotels, Howard Hastings was awarded the Irish Hotels Federation President’s Award 2024 at the IHF’s Annual Conference at the Slieve Russell Hotel, Cavan, this week. The Presi-dent’s Award was presented to Dr Hastings in recognition of his enormous contribution to tourism and Ireland.

Dr Hastings has made an outstanding contribution to our industry in his many leadership roles over the years, including as a board member of Tourism Ireland, Chairman of of the Northern Ireland Tourist Board, founding President of the Northern Ireland Hotels Federation, Director of Titanic Belfast and Chairman of Visit Belfast. In 2014, he was awarded an OBE for services to tourism and hospitality.

Speaking at the Awards Ceremony during the IHF’s Annual Gala Dinner, outgoing IHF President Denyse Campbell said, “Howard Hastings has made an enormous contribition to Irish tourism and Irish society during his stellar career. We are delighted to recognise the impact he has made and thank him for the role he continues to play in inspiring others to succeed.”

Hastings Hotels, founded in 1966, is the largest independent hotel group in Northern Ireland. The Hastings portfolio includes the Culloden Estate and Spa, the Europa and the Stormont Hotels in Belfast, the Everglades in Derry and the Ballygally Castle on the Antrim Coast outside Larne. The company also co-owns the Merrion Hotel in Dublin.

The IHF President’s award - Each year at the annual conference the IHF President’s award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to tourism and Ireland. Previous recipients of the IHF President’s award are Dr Martin Naughton, Dr Tom Kavanagh, Professor Mary McAleese, Paul Carty, Anna Mae McHugh, Donie Cassidy, JP McManus, Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh and Michael Noonan.

Visit Irish Hotels Federation’s website

IHF Member Hotels & Guesthouses and tourism industry partners can submit news stories for inclusion by emailing us at

Book Direct for the very best
deals and guest experience!

Irish Hotels Federation | Working Together